Haqq Dawah Media Presents Rootimentary:The Five Pillars of Islam

February 10, 2017

The Five Pillars of Islam are the foundation of a Muslim’s life: declaration of faith or belief in the Oneness of Allah and finality of Prophethood of Muhammad(SAW): established of the daily ritual prayers,concern for and almsgiving to the needy,self purification through fasting, and the pilgrimage to Mecca for those who are physically, and financially able.


Shahada Or Declaration of Faith:


There Is none worthy of worship except Allah and Muhammad is his messenger of Allah. This declaration of faith is called the shahadah, a simple formula that all the faithful pronounce. The significance of this declaration is the belief that the only purpose of life is to serve and obey Allah, and this is achieved through the teachings and practices of the Last Prophet Muhammad (SAW).


Salah or Prayer:


Salah is the name for the obligatory prayers that are performed five times a day and area direct link between the worshipper and Allah.

These five ritual prayers contain verses from the Quran and are said in Arabic the language of the revelation. Personal supplications however, can be offered in one’s own language and at any time.


Zakat or Almsgiving:


An Important principle of Islam is that everything belong Allah, and that wealth is therefore held by human beings in trust. The word zakah means both purification and growth.

Setting aside a proportion for those in need purifies our possessions, and like pruning of plants, this cutting back balances and encourages new growth.


Sawm or Fasting:


Every year in the month of Ramadan, all able Muslims fast from dawn until sundown. Abstaining from food, drink, and sexual relations.

Although fasting os benefical to health it is mainly a method of self purification and self restraint.By cutting oneself from worldly comforts, even for a short time, a fasting person focuses on his or her purpose in life by constantly being aware of the presence of Allah.


Hajj or Pilgrimage:


The Hajj to Mecca is an obligation only or those who are physically and financially able. Nevertheless over two million Muslims go to Meccan each year from all over the world.

The annual Hajj begins in the twelfth month of the Islamic lunar year.Pilgrims wear special clothes: simple garments that stip away distinctions of class and culture, so that all stand equal before Allah.


The close of the Hajj is marked by a festival, the Id’al Fitr, which celebrated with prayers and the exchange of gifts in Muslim communities. This and Eid Fitr, a festive day of celebration.

AsSalaam Alkuim,


Facebook Comments: